Before purchasing fine jewelry and diamonds let help you know more about it. We all know diamonds are precious stone and we all love to purchase it. This will help you get the best diamond with confidence. Diamonds are rated and sold according to the 4 cs ie. Carat, Color, Cut, and Clarity. Let’s know more about each aspect in detail.

4 Cs of diamond

Diamond Color

This refers to absence of color in a diamond. A chemically pure and structurally perfect diamond has no hue and consequently a higher value. The colorlessness of a diamond is graded on an alphabetical scale from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow).

Diamond Color Scale


Diamond Cut

CUT is the most defining characteristic of a diamond. The cut of a diamond refers not to its shape, but to the balance of proportion, symmetry and polish achieved by the diamond cutter. It is evaluated using the attributes of brilliance, fire, and scintillation. An expertly-cut diamond will achieve high levels of brilliance, sparkle, and durability. Even if a diamond is graded well in other areas, a poor cut can result in a dull,

muted effect. Diamond Cut Scale contains 5 grades ranging from Excellent to Poor. Diamond Cut Scale

Diamond Clarity

Clarity refers to how clean or clear the diamond is with respect to natural microscopic characteristics that were trapped within or on the diamond while it was forming. Internal characteristics are known as inclusions, and characteristics on the surface of the gem are known as blemishes. Inclusions may be crystals of a foreign material or structural imperfections such as tiny cracks, known as feathers, which can appear whitish or cloudy.

Diamond Clarity Scale

Diamond Carat

The carat is the standard unit of measurement used to indicate the weight of diamonds and precious gemstones. Total carat weight (t.c.w.) is a phrase that represents the total weight of all diamonds or other gemstones in a piece of jewelry, when more than one gemstone is used. Diamond solitaire earrings, for example, are usually quoted in t.c.w., indicating the combined weight of the diamonds in both earrings.

Diamond Carat and Their Sizes in mm

Diamond Shape

Diamond shape refers to a diamond's physical form, and is often one of the first attributes that people consider when shopping for a diamond.

Popular Diamond Shapes

Diamond Settings

Pave and Micro-pave Setting

In this, small diamonds are closely set together with minimal visibility of the tiny metal beads or prongs, allowing more light to reflect for incredible brilliance. Stones smaller than 0.01ct, in a pave setting, are considered micro-pave set.

Prong setting

This classic setting features 2 or more prongs wrapped around the crown of the stone to secure it in place while also allowing maximum light to pass through the stone for maximum brilliance.

6 - Prongs

4 - Prongs

3 - Prongs

Shared Prong setting

In this, two or more stones are set together while each having 2 or more common prongs. This setting ensures maximum brilliance with maximum passage of light.

Channel Setting

This involves setting diamonds in a channel or groove in the metal. The stones are set side by side in a straight line with no metal in between.

Invisible Setting

This setting is common for square or princess cut diamonds. Diamonds and gemstones sit side-by-side and create an illusion of a much larger diamond.

Bezel Setting

A bezel setting has a metal rim that encircles the sides of a gemstone and extends slightly above it. A bezel setting holds a gemstone securely, and the protective profile it creates makes a bezel setting a good choice for people with active lifestyles.

Miracle Setting

A miracle setting has a metal rim that encircles the sides of a gemstone, like reflectors with prongs holding the metal rim. A miracle setting holds a gemstone securely, and makes the diamond looking double it's size.